What do you think about?

Where does your mind take you?

This past week I decided that it was time for me to attempt another challenge. So I have decided that I will train for another marathon. My goal is to run the Thunder Road Marathon in November. This will be my second attempt at the 26.2 mile distance, I ran the Charlotte Run for Peace and I believe it was 1999. It was extremely cold and and wet. Thirty-three degrees and freezing rain. It was a long miserable day (5:17) and I loved every minute of it. I have always wanted to run another one and I have started training programs before only to let life get in the way. Now that I’m pushing 50 I believe this is the best time to give it a serious shot.

So this week I started following the coach option on my Nike Plus app and as I began to log the miles I started to wonder what other people think about when they run. I image world class runners have trained themselves to keep their focus on what they are trying to accomplish but I’m free to let my mind take me to wherever it wants to go. Usually, I will think about my upcoming task or a customer I have been trying to sale but most of the time I will use this time to think of stories. I like to use this time to create characters or plots and story line. Entire worlds can be created during my runs. Besides all of the health benefits of running there are lots of mental benefits. I have to have my run time to clear my mind. Don’t get me wrong, I spend plenty of time thinking about pace, tempo and form but it’s the mental release I get from running I enjoy the most and that is the fitness escape. So, what do you think about when you run?

Leave a Reply

