Xterra Parry Sound – My First Attempt at Off-Road Triathlon

I wanted to share this because it is something I want to try.

Transforming into a Triathlete

WOW… I did not know what I was getting myself into when I signed up for this race! From the Xterra Youtube video’s I have seen, the mountain bike courses have all resembled XC (cross-country) terrain with nothing too technical or difficult. I raced my mountain bike in the Surf & Turf and my lack of experience on a mountain bike did not hurt my results much if any. This was NOTHING like anything I had ever seen or experienced! More on the bike course later…

I made the 3.5 hour drive to arrive at the race site (Georgian Nordic Ski and Canoe Club) by 8am (2.5 hours before the start). I had a little talk with the guy who parked beside me (former professional triathlete and soon to be winner on this day – Sean Bechtel) who mentioned the importance of pre-riding an Xterra bike course. He was also…

View original post 1,753 more words

Leave a Reply

