Personal Best

Chelsea Brierton

Photo Credit: FreeImages.com/Einar Hansen

Yesterday morning, I ran fifteen minutes without stopping.

This was a serious milestone in my fitness journey. When I started with the Couch to 5K program back in May, running 30 seconds at a time was very uncomfortable. I thought, there’s no way I’ll ever be able to do this. I thought, running sucks. It hurts. It’s too hard. So, as I’d done many times before, I gave up.

And then, at the beginning of June, we lost my brother in a car accident. This was suffering on a level I had never experienced before. I thought, I’ll never make peace with this; it’s going to eat me alive for the rest of my life. Two months later, there are moments when I think my family is starting to heal — usually followed by moments of thinking we never will. Some days the grief swallows everything; some days…

View original post 757 more words

Leave a Reply

