Let’s talk about the 5K

wonderjess

We probably all started with a 5K. I started with a 5K. I was reminded by Facebook a couple weeks ago that it was the seven year runniversary of my first 5K. I ran the Women’s Distance Festival 5K in Raleigh, NC. I remember that it was hillier than I thought it could be, and I got so mad at myself for having to walk in the last mile. Since that first race, I have other milestones that I think about, the first time I ran a sub-30 5K at the Skirt Chaser 5K in Raleigh, NC, now I’m waiting to hit sub 25 minutes.

I quickly picked up my racing distance, moving on to half marathons and then marathons. In those seven years, I’ve only run about 10 5Ks. My pace on these 5K have dropped, from 36 minute finishes to 26 minute finishes. I just ran a 5K this…

View original post 306 more words

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk about the 5K

Leave a Reply

