Local Exploration – Finally did the McGee Mountain Climb

Dirty Teeth – Alan's Mountain Biking Adventures

The peaceful ascent through Tobacco Flats. The peaceful ascent through Tobacco Flats.

Once in a while, I ride Tobacco Flats.  I always manage to stare up at the crazy zig zag line that carves its way up McGee Mountain and think about what the views must be like up there.  As I stare at said zig zaggy line, I always think about when my buddy Jeremy McGhee (no relation) told me about how he almost drove his Forerunner off that dicey doubletrack road.  So yeah, it’s been on the list to explore up there.  I figured it would be kinda like the Laurel Lakes climb.

Looking back, part way up the zig-zag switchbacks. Looking back, part way up the zig-zag switchbacks.

So… how was it?  Taxing and invigorating.  You can drive up to the switchbacks, but I prefer to park by Mt. Morrison Rd and ride up through Tobacco Flats to add some mileage and a nice warmup on my stubborn legs.  I…

View original post 306 more words

Leave a Reply

