4 Days on the Appalachian Trail

Running While Fat

Yesterday noon we finally came down off the mountain after 4 days hiking. We started at Pen-Mar, at the PA/MD border, hiked the entire Maryland section, and crossed over briefly into VA and ended in WV at Harper’s Ferry. 4 days, 4 states, 42 miles.

AT_MD_1_ElevAT_MD_2_Elev

AT_MD_3_ElevAT_MD_4_Elev

(MD trail topo from http://www.localhikes.com)

After we came off the trail, we asked a passerby to take a picture of our group. As I was looking at the picture to put it up on Facebook, I had a moment of panic– in the picture my pack’s hip belt was cinched tight around my squishy belly, I was hunched over slightly in the pose, and the overall effect was not flattering. But then I came to my senses– what the hell, that belly just did an amazing thing! Fat girls can climb mountains too! The picture went online, rolls and all.

It would be safe to…

View original post 1,872 more words

Leave a Reply

