Appalachian Trail Run Review: Linden to Sky Meadows

Musings over Coffee

IMG_1229I did my 20 mile long run on the Appalachian Trail, starting at Linden.  I had found this page from the Virginia Happy Trails Running Club about the route which was extremely informative, even down to the GPS coordinates for the parking lot. I get lost a lot, but I had no problem finding the trailhead.  I had been planning to run to Ashby Point, but Sky Meadows was so pretty so I detoured there instead right at the end.   There was only one trail marking that confused me, and I took the wrong trail at about mile two following signs pointing to Thompson Lake. The sign was marked fine saying “Appalachian Trail N – S”, I just couldn’t tell exactly which trail it had been pointing to.  I had remembered from the maps that there were side trails to the shelters, and so when I also saw signs for Manassas Gap…

View original post 449 more words

Leave a Reply

