Taper Time 

Run, Write, Sleep. Repeat.

Somehow, 17 weeks of training have passed and I am tapering. Which means a few things. One, that the last of my super-long (and even moderately long) training runs are behind me. Two, that my legs are mightily beaten up and should soon feel close normal again. And that it’s time to freak out.

The time has arrived when the voice in my head starts to fill my mind with doubts about my ability to run 26.2 miles. When I start to fret about elevation charts and the course’s twists and turns. And when I commence a a daily inventory of my running wardrobe, stock of energy gels and the blisters on my feet.

I have already bought my sketchy old tracksuit from Goodwill to wear at the start line and throw off in the corrals, so that’s one thing crossed off the list. But there is still plenty to…

View original post 455 more words

Leave a Reply

